Jet Ski

8 Common Jet Ski Rental Questions In Clearwater Beach

questions before renting jetskis

If you’re on vacation in Florida, you should try the local water activities. When visiting Florida, a lot of people desire to go jet skiing. Yet, if this is your first time participating in the sport, you may have many questions. We try to address 8 common Jet Ski rental questions in Florida in this post.

  1.   How old do you have to be to rent a jet ski?

You must be 16 years old and present a valid photo ID to hire a jet ski. A parent or legal guardian who is at least 18 years old must sign a waiver on behalf of any person under 18. No of your age, all Jet Ski operators must complete an on-site safety course before receiving a boat safety card. There are no age limitations for Jet Ski rentals.

  1.   What forms of payment do you accept?

You can rent a jet ski from either of our Clearwater Beach locations with cash or a credit card. Please be aware that payment is due at the time of renting.

  1.   Do I have to make a reservation?

Make a reservation if you want to be sure that a Jet Ski rental will be offered to you. But unless you’re part of a party that wants many jet skis, you usually don’t need to make reservations in advance.

  1.   Is There A Specific Age To Be Able To Rent A Jet Ski?

The minimum age to rent a jet ski is 18, 16, and 17-year-olds can operate the vehicle alone with a legal guardian present to rent the watercraft and sign liability documents.

  • To rent a jet ski, you must be at least 18 years old, or 16 with a picture ID and a parent or guardian.
  •  Anybody born on or after January 1, 1988, must comply with Florida law and complete a boating safety course to receive a Boating Safety Education Identity Card from the FWC.

The Boating Safety Education Identity Card provides evidence that the educational requirements have been successfully met.

A Boating Safety Education Identification Card is not legally necessary for anyone who was born before January 1, 1988, although it is highly recommended.

  • BOAT: A 25-year-old with prior boating experience and a boating license.
  • KAYAK: requires that users be at least 10 years old and have parental consent on file.
  • PADDLE BOARD: Minimum age of 10 with legal guardian’s signature.
  1.   How much does a Jet Ski rental cost?

Location, level of quality, and unstated fees all have a role. The quick answer is that Jet Ski rentals often run between $80-$100 per hour.

  1.   How To Understand My Rent Time Is Up?

Jet skis can be hired for periods of one hour or also can be rented for different hours, to understand your rent time is up you have to be attentive towards your ride and time.

  • Boat rentals range from two hours to eight hours (full-day).
  • If you’d like to reserve a boat for eight hours, we kindly ask that you phone us first so we can go over the operating area restrictions.
  • Kayaks and paddleboards are available for hourly rental.
  1.   What Is The Best Time To Rent?

The greatest time to rent a jet ski is unquestionably during the summer, starting with the season. The best summer water sports are jet skiing. Therefore it’s advisable to reserve your jetski as soon as you can. The calmer start to the morning gives you more opportunity to enjoy the undisturbed views.

  1.   What Should I Expect When Renting A Jet Ski For The First Time?

A life jacket or PFD with Coast Guard approval (it’s required). Water-specific attire and equipment are necessary. Gloves allow you to grip the throttle and lines while preventing blisters on your hands. Your certificate from a boating safety course or any other license or certification that your state mandates be held in order to operate a PWC.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *